1. 65daysofstatic – No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe

65daysofstatic-no-mans-sky

1. 65daysofstatic – No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe (2016)

Disc 1
1. Monolith
2. Supermoon
3. Asimov
4. Heliosphere
5. Blueprint For A Slow Machine
6. Pillars Of Frost
7. Escape Velocity
8. Red Parallax
9. Hypersleep
10. End Of The World Sun

Disc 2
1. NMS_exteriorAtmos1 / False Suns
2. Tomorrow / Lull / Celestial Feedback
3. Departure / Shortwave / Noisetest
4. temporalDissent / ascension_test1 / koaecax
5. Borealis / Contrastellar
6. Outlier / EOTWS_Variation1

As this is the first post of the Great 2017 CD-Listen-athon*, I’ll start with a quick summary of how I’m doing it. Each CD gets listened to, in full, either in my car during journeys, or on my phone during lunch-breaks. After finishing each CD, I’ll answer a few questions about it on these pages…

Who are 65daysofstatic?

According to Wikipedia, 65daysofstatic are an instrumental electronic post/math rock band from Sheffield, England.

According to their Twitter bio (@65dos); “New album – No Man’s Sky: Music for an Infinite Universe – Out now”. Helpful.

Why did you buy this album?

A few years ago, we started listening regularly to BBC6Music in the background at work. One of the first tracks I remember hearing and stopping work to listen to was ‘Radio Protector‘ by 65daysofstatic (or 65dos as I shall be referring to them as here). This track was from their second album ‘One Time for All Time‘, which I subsequently purchased as a download.

Since then, I’d heard a few more of their albums via Spotify (other streaming sites are available), and generally liked what I’d heard. When I saw that they’d created the soundtrack for the game ‘No Man’s Sky‘, I gave it a listen, and liked it a lot. One quick trip to Amazon later…

What’s it like?

I always find it difficult to critique music in this way. Which bodes well for this blog…

It’s an odd album, this. It’s a natural extension of what 65dos have been doing, and the first disc has that epic feel that makes my journey round the M60 slightly more interesting than usual. The second disc in the set seems to me to be less listen-able in this way though; likely I need to hear it in game to fully appreciate it.

After listening to it now, do you like this album?

What with it being a relatively recent purchase, I do. I’ve still not listened to it enough to be fully familiar with it, nor to be sick and fed up of it.

Any stand-out tracks?

In the interest of fairness, I’ll pick one from each disc. From disc one, I’d go for ‘Asimov‘, and from two, probably ‘Tomorrow/Lull/Celestial Feedback‘. Those titles should also give you an idea of the sound of it too…

Rating out of 10?

8/10

Next up; ABC – The Lexicon of Love

 

*If anyone can think of a better title for this project, let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

