6. Afro Celt Sound System – Volume 2: Release

afro-celt-sound-system-volume-2-release

6. Afro Celt Sound System – Volume 2: Release (1999)

1. Release
2. Lovers of Light
3. Éireann
4. Urban Aire
5. Big Cat
6. Even in My Dreams
7. Amber
8. Hypnotica
9. Riding the Waves
10. I Think of…
11. Release It (instrumental)

Who are Afro Celt Sound System?

According to their Twitter bio (@ACSSofficial); “New album THE SOURCE 5* fRoots / 5* Songlines / 4* Observer / 4* Daily Mirror / 4* Financial Times / 4* i”.

Good to see another group confusing “biography” with “advertisement”…

Why did you buy this album?

This album was the one that got me interested in ACSS in the first place, but not because I bought it. Whilst at university, one of my flatmates bought a vinyl copy of this album with his first student loan payment (we were music students, it’s what the student loan was for…). It sat in his room for that year, never got played, but the band name and the cover got me intrigued.

Later, when the following album came out, I remembered the group from this album, bought it and enjoyed it, but I still hadn’t heard this album. Eventually I spotted it on sale for pennies and went for it.

What’s it like?

This is much better than the previous album. The group finally manage to bring their three styles together in a much more satisfying way than previously, and even add more vocals to have some actually memorable songs.

Not sure it needs to finish with an instrumental reprise of the first track though, especially as it’s just the first track with the vocals removed, rather than a re-arrangement…

After listening to it now, do you still like this album?

Yes. As I mention above, the combination of Irish, West African, and Electronic music really works well this time around. I couldn’t listen to it endlessly on repeat (which I can/have with other albums I own), but it stands up to infrequent repeated listens.

Any stand-out tracks?

Opener ‘Release‘, with guest vocalist Sinéad O’Connor, is great, and I always enjoy ‘Big Cat‘ when that comes round.

Rating out of 10?

7/10.

Next up: Afro Celt Sound System – Volume 3: Further in Time

Leave a Reply

