9. Tori Amos – Little Earthquakes

tori-amos-little-earthquakes

9. Tori Amos – Little Earthquakes (1992)

1. Crucify
2. Girl
3. Silent All These Years
4. Precious Things
5. Winter
6. Happy Phantom
7. China
8. Leather
9. Mother
10. Tear in Your Hand
11. Me and a Gun
12. Little Earthquakes

Who is Tori Amos?

According to Wikipedia, Tori Amos “is an American singer-songwriter, pianist and composer. She is a classically trained musician with a mezzo-soprano vocal range.”.

Why did you buy this album?

This is another of my wife’s CDs. No idea why she bought it, other than I know it’s an artist she likes.

What’s it like?

For a debut album, it’s remarkably accomplished. It’s at turns funny, harrowing, beautiful, and disturbing, without ever tipping too far in one direction. Eccentric without being too weird, and eminently listenable.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I do, with reservations. Whilst listening to it, I enjoy it, but find that nothing particularly sticks in my mind afterwards.

Any stand-out tracks?

Yes and no. I’ve had to take note of songs I’ve enjoyed while I was listening to it, as they’ve gone straight out of my mind afterwards. I think ‘Precious Things‘ and ‘Little Earthquakes‘ itself may just about hang around for a bit longer…

Rating out of 10?

6/10. Would have been higher if more of it had stuck in my brain…

Next up: Tori Amos – Under The Pink

Leave a Reply

