15. Backstreet Boys – Millennium

backstreet-boys-millennium

15. Backstreet Boys – Millennium (1999)

1. Larger than Life
2. I Want It That Way
3. Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely
4. It’s Gotta Be You
5. I Need You Tonight
6. Don’t Want You Back
7. Don’t Wanna Lose You Now
8. The One
9. Back to Your Heart
10. Spanish Eyes
11. No One Else Comes Close
12. The Perfect Fan

Who are Backstreet Boys?

According to Wikipedia, Backstreet Boys “are an American vocal group formed in Orlando, Florida in 1993.”

Are? I had no idea they were still going…

Why did you buy this album?

I didn’t. This is very firmly one of my wife’s CDs.

What’s it like?

Oh dear. Where to start…

This is commercial pop at its most cookie-cutter, market-friendly, demographically-targeted peak. The songs veer between up-tempo dance-pop, perfect for choreographed group routines, to mawkish pop ballads, perfect for choreographed group routines with bar stools…

Lyrically, there’s more depth in a Hallmark Valentine’s Day card. If I hear another “baby…” or “girl, I…” I may scream.

I think I may not be the in target demographic for this album. I think I may never have been in the target demographic for this album…

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I do not like this album.

I do not like the songs I have heard prior to listening to this album for the first time.

I do not like the songs I have now heard at least three times in order to give this album a chance.

It’s well produced, but so are reality TV shows and the Twilight films.

Any stand-out tracks?

Not in a good way. ‘Don’t Want You Back‘ stands out as being a break-up song in the middle of, well, not break-up songs, and ‘The Perfect Fan‘ is the closing ballad in praise of one of the group’s mothers, and therefore supremely awkward to listen to.

Rating out of 10?

2/10. Bonus point for quality production.

Next up: Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast

Leave a Reply

