16. Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast

badly-drawn-boy-the-hour-of-bewilderbeast

16. Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast (2000)

1. The Shining
2. Everybody’s Stalking
3. Bewilder
4. Fall in a River
5. Camping Next to Water
6. Stone on the Water
7. Another Pearl
8. Body Rap
9. Once Around the Block
10. This Song
11. Bewilderbeast
12. Magic in the Air
13. Cause a Rockslide
14. Pissing in the Wind
15. Blistered Heart
16. Disillusion
17. Say It Again
18. Epitaph

Who is Badly Drawn Boy?

According to Wikipedia, Badly Drawn Boy “is an English indie singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist.”

Why did you buy this album?

I don’t know…

I think I bought this for my wife (and my Amazon order history backs this up), but she’s sure I bought this for myself…

Essentially, neither of us want to admit to owning this album. This may be a bad sign…

What’s it like?

It’s interesting, if a little uninspiring. There’s songs with catchy acoustic guitar riffs interspersed with instrumentals with catch acoustic guitar riffs, and piano riffs. The instrumentals are the more interesting parts of the album, and point towards his later soundtrack work.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I must have heard this album before. I’m sure I’ve heard this album before. I’ve certainly heard all the singles before, as they were fairly inescapable during the early 2000s. At the time, I thought ‘meh’.

Now, I still think ‘meh’. I must have bought this album for a reason, but other than giving it as a gift, I can’t think why…

Any stand-out tracks?

As I mentioned earlier, the instrumentals stand out more for my ears. ‘Bewilderbeast‘ is probably the finest, although it could just be because it forms a blessed relief to the awful ‘This Song‘ that precedes it.

Rating out of 10?

3/10. Meh.

Next up: Barenaked Ladies – Gordon

Leave a Reply

