19. Barenaked Ladies – Born On A Pirate Ship

barenaked-ladies-born-on-a-pirate-ship

19. Barenaked Ladies – Born On A Pirate Ship (1996)

1. Stomach vs. Heart
2. Straw Hat and Old Dirty Hank
3. I Know
4. This Is Where It Ends
5. When I Fall
6. I Live with It Every Day
7. The Old Apartment
8. Call Me Calmly
9. Break Your Heart
10. Spider in My Room
11. Same Thing
12. Just a Toy
13. In the Drink
14. Shoe Box

Who is/are Barenaked Ladies?

According to Facebook, “BNL Rocks Red Rocks – Out NOW!”

I think bands/labels may see online bios as something different than us mere mortals.

Why did you buy this album?

Another from my wife’s collection, bought for the sake of completeness.

What’s it like?

After the somewhat subdued ‘Maybe You Should Drive‘, this feels more like the BNL we heard on ‘Gordon‘. The wordplay, the sense of fun, and the dark undercurrent are all present and correct, and the songs seem to have their energy back! At least, for the first half of the album.

After ‘Call Me Calmly‘, things seem to slow, with tunes blending together, and I have to admit losing track of which song I was listening to at this point, until we reach the closer, ‘Shoe Box‘.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

It’s another solid album, but I can’t get over the sudden drop in quality half way through. It’s good, but with the best tracks on other albums (some live, some not), I don’t think I pull this one off the shelf with any frequency.

Any stand-out tracks?

For me, ‘Straw Hat and Old Dirty Hank‘ comes a close second to the clear stand-out of ‘The Old Apartment‘.

Honourable mentions to ‘When I Fall‘, ‘Stomach vs. Heart‘ and ‘Shoe Box‘.

Rating out of 10?

8/10.

Next up: Barenaked Ladies – Rock Spectacle

Leave a Reply

