20. Barenaked Ladies – Rock Spectacle

barenaked-ladies-rock-spectacle

20. Barenaked Ladies – Rock Spectacle (1996)

1. Brian Wilson
2. Straw Hat and Old Dirty Hank
3. Break Your Heart
4. Jane
5. When I Fall
6. Hello City
7. What a Good Boy
8. The Old Apartment
9. Life, in a Nutshell
10. These Apples
11. Grade 9/If I Had $1000000
12. The Sweetest Woman (Hidden track)
13. Uncle Elwyn (Hidden track)

Who is/are Barenaked Ladies?

Well, by now you should know who they are. If not, to Instagram we go; ‘#BNL2017 Tickets ON SALE NOW!

Hmmm…

Why did you buy this album?

Another from my wife’s collection. I think I may have bought this for her, but I’m likely wrong.

What’s it like?

Live! Hurrah! (Though is is one of those live albums, cobbled together from more than one show. Two shows in this instance.)

BNL are the band I have seen live the most, thanks to R.E.M. splitting up, and the fun that they have during each live show comes through quite well here, though not quite so well as a later live recording…

The songs form a solid set list, with a good selection songs from their first 3 albums appearing on it. There are also two hidden tracks on the album; one is the on-stage conversation that would have preceded ‘If I Had $1000000‘, and provides context to one of the improvisations in that song. Quite why this wasn’t included in the correct place in the running order, I don’t know.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I do. Live is when BNL do their best work, and this recording captures them well, making even the “lesser” tracks in the set sound great. My only gripe is the placement of the hidden tracks; they should have gone in the running order proper!

Any stand-out tracks?

Always, always ‘Brian Wilson‘ (it was this live version I heard first), with ‘The Old Apartment‘ and ‘What A Good Boy‘ also being particularly good.

A notable mention also goes to the merger of ‘Grade 9/If I Had $1000000‘…

Rating out of 10?

8/10. Points lost for putting not putting those hidden tracks in in the right place…

Next up: Barenaked Ladies – Stunt

Leave a Reply

