23. Barenaked Ladies – Everything To Everyone

records

23. Barenaked Ladies – Everything To Everyone (2003)

1. Celebrity
2. Maybe Katie
3. Another Postcard
4. Next Time
5. For You
6. Shopping
7. Testing 1,2,3
8. Upside Down
9. War on Drugs
10. Aluminum
11. Unfinished
12. Second Best
13. Take It Outside
14. Have You Seen My Love?
15. Another Postcard (acoustic)
16. Maybe Katie (acoustic
17. Second Best (acoustic)

Who is/are Barenaked Ladies?

Seriously?

Why did you buy this album?

We think this is the first BNL album I bought my wife…

Given that we got married the year this came out, that sounds likely enough.

What’s it like?

After the disappointing ‘Maroon‘, this is something of a return to form, though not quite reaching the heights of ‘Stunt‘.

It’s the longest album to date too, with bonus acoustic tracks on the version we own extending it even more. It doesn’t feel that long though.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I actually like this album more now than I did when I first heard it. Admittedly, part of this may be down to familiarity, but I was pleasantly surprised when listening to this again.

I’m still not a fan of the opening track (‘Celebrity‘) though, and I can live without the closing ‘Have You Seen My Love?‘ too.

Any stand-out tracks?

Maybe Katie‘, ‘Testing 1, 2, 3‘ and ‘Another Postcard‘ always spring to mind, and with this re-visit, I’ve really enjoyed ‘Aluminum‘ and ‘Second Best‘.

Rating out of 10?

8/10.

Next up: Barenaked Ladies – Barenaked For The Holidays Tour Live

Leave a Reply

