31. Barenaked Ladies – Grinning Streak

Barenaked Ladies - Grinning Streak

31. Barenaked Ladies – Grinning Streak (2013)

Who is/are Barenaked Ladies?

See those chaps on the album cover above? That’s them…

Why did you buy this album?

I think this was bought as an easy birthday present for my wife. Or possibly just as an “it’s a new BNL album” present for my wife.

What’s it like?

This is their second album proper without Steven Page, and feels like a decent follow up to ‘All In Good Time’. As with that album, there’s a very polished air about proceeding, and a suitably mature style throughout.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I want to, I really do, but I just struggle to get through it. There are a couple of tracks that stand out on each listening, but the album as a whole just generally coagulates into one glossily produced sound. I’ve only noticed that the album has gone back to the beginning when I’ve heard the second track again…

I don’t think it helps that the sharing of vocals is markedly less on this album that previously. Ed Robertson, having written all the songs bar one, sings all the songs bar one, with Kevin Hearn the only other contributor.

My wife tells me she really likes this album, so maybe I’m just getting BNL fatigue at this point. I may have to revisit it at a later date.

Any stand-out tracks?

The afore-mention second track, ‘Boomerang‘, is decent enough, and ‘Gonna Walk‘ and ‘Odds Are‘ are genuinely good pop songs, helped by the fact I’ve heard these songs live.

Other than those, and the Kevin’s song ‘Daydreamin’‘, I’d be hard pressed to name any others.

Rating out of 10?

6/10. Finally, a BNL album I like less than ‘Maroon‘. I expect my wife will be having words with me after this though…

Next up: Barenaked Ladies – Silverball

 

Leave a Reply

