37. Bat for Lashes – The Bride

Bat For Lashes - The Bride

37. Bat for Lashes – The Bride (2016)

1. I Do
2. Joe’s Dream
3. In God’s House
4. Honeymooning Alone
5. Sunday Love
6. Never Forgive the Angels
7. Close Encounters
8. Widow’s Peak
9. Land’s End
10. If I Knew
11. I Will Love Again
12. In Your Bed

Who is/are Bat for Lashes?

Over to the official Facebook page; “#TheBride is out now>> batforlashes.com”.

I couldn’t have put it better myself…

Why did you buy this album?

It was a new Bat for Lashes album, so having enjoyed the previous 3 albums, I pre-ordered this one, with the bonus that it came to me signed by Ms. Bat for Lashes, Natasha Khan, herself.

What’s it like?

Behold the concept album.

Unlike the past three albums, ‘The Bride‘ tells a story through its 12 songs, that of a bride-to-be whose fiancé dies on the way to their wedding, and her resultant grief and recovery. Not exactly the cheeriest of topics, but one that is very well explored.

This is a more stripped down album, with the over-busy instrumentation of ‘Two Suns‘ now a distant memory. The majority of songs are led by Khan’s voice with a simple piano or guitar accompaniment.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I do like this album, though it’s not one I’d pick to listen to regularly. I generally listen to my own music whilst in the car, or whilst eating my lunch, neither of which suit the more sparse and intimate nature of this album.

However, when listening to it for this post, I was reminded of just how much I enjoyed it the first time I heard it, whilst glossing our youngest son’s rooms skirting board…

Any stand-out tracks?

Sunday Love‘ is a strong contender, along with lead single ‘In God’s House‘ .

Rating out of 10?

8/10.

Next up: The Beach Boys – Pet Sounds

Leave a Reply

