40. The Beatles – Abbey Road

The Beatles - Abbey Road

40. The Beatles – Abbey Road (1969)

1. Come Together
2. Something
3. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer
4. Oh! Darling
5. Octopus’s Garden
6. I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
7. Here Comes the Sun
8. Because
9. You Never Give Me Your Money
10. Sun King
11. Mean Mr. Mustard
12. Polythene Pam
13. She Came in Through the Bathroom Window
14. Golden Slumbers
15. Carry That Weight
16. The End
17. Her Majesty

Who is/are The Beatles?

I’ll just leave this here….

Why did you buy this album?

I had a few, shall we say, unofficially obtained copies of most Beatles albums over the years, mostly on cassettes, but never ever had a copy of Abbey Road. Most of the songs I’d heard in other ways, such as on ‘1967-1970‘ (aka the ‘Blue Album‘), and on various other compilations, but I’d never listened to the full album. At university, I had the chance, and loved it, but never got around to buying it, despite the multitude of music retailers in Manchester.

When the Beatles back catalogue was re-mastered and re-released on CD in 2009, with prices well below usual chart price, I thought it my duty to make amends for all the C90s and actually purchase a legitimate copy of an album I adored 8 years previously.

What’s it like?

It’s probably the pinnacle of late-era Beatles, with all four members contributing strong songs; even Ringo*. There’s not a wasted moment on it, and not a single song feels like it shouldn’t be there.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

It’s brilliant. Each song holds up ridiculously well, and the closing medley (from ‘You Never Give Me Your Money‘ to ‘The End‘) is, to my ears at least, some of the most enjoyable music the Beatles ever recorded. It’s definitely my favourite Beatles album; sorry, ‘Sgt. Pepper‘, but you can blame ‘Within You Without You‘.

Any stand-out tracks?

As with ‘Sgt. Pepper‘, I tend to have one solid favourite, and a rotating roster of other’s that pique my interest at different times.

In this case, my favourite is actually three; ‘Golden Slumbers‘, ‘Carry That Weight‘, and ‘The End‘. Those three, coming at the end of the medley, never fail to get my attention.

Notable mentions also go to ‘Come Together‘, ‘I Want You (She’s So Heavy)‘, and ‘Because‘.

Rating out of 10?

10/10.

Next up: The Beautiful South – Quench

*Seriously! I challenge you to listen to ‘Octopus’s Garden‘ and not smile…

Leave a Reply

