47. Blur – Leisure

Blur - Leisure

47. Blur – Leisure (1991)

1. She’s So High
2. Bang
3. Slow Down
4. Repetition
5. Bad Day
6. Sing
7. There’s No Other Way
8. Fool
9. Come Together
10. High Cool
11. Birthday
12. Wear Me Down

Who is/are Blur?

‘Blur are an English rock band, formed in London in 1988.’ Thanks, Wikipedia. Succinct.

Why did you buy this album?

This is one from my wife’s collection, as she’s the bigger Blur fan. I do remember seeing the cover at the time it came out, but I was too busy listening to my dad’s ELO LPs…

What’s it like?

It’s mixed, to say the least. A lot of the tunes have the whole Madchester thing going on, which is not necessarily a good thing. There are some great tunes on here, but the whole album seems a bit direction-less, and if I’d heard this in 1991, I’d probably have written Blur off.

Fortunately, they get better.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I want to, I really want to. It has its moments, but moments do not an album make. When guitarist Graham Coxon gets to unleash his fuzzy guitar sound, it’s good, but there’s not enough of it for my liking. The whole album seems to be a wasted opportunity, based on the talent involved, and the majority of it just doesn’t sound like Blur.

Apparently, lead singer Damon Albarn called this album “awful” during an interview in 2007, so I’m at least more generous than one of the men who made it…

Any stand-out tracks?

My favourites are currently ‘Sing‘ and ‘Slow Down’. Notable mentions also go to ‘She’s So High’ and ‘Bad Day‘.

Rating out of 10?

5/10.

Next up: Blur – Modern Life is Rubbish

 

Leave a Reply

