51. Blur – Blur

Blur - Blur

51. Blur – Blur (1997)

1. Beetlebum
2. Song 2
3. Country Sad Ballad Man
4. M.O.R.
5. On Your Own
6. Theme from Retro
7. You’re So Great
8. Death of a Party
9. Chinese Bombs
10. I’m Just a Killer for Your Love
11. Look Inside America
12. Strange News from Another Star
13. Movin’ On
14. Essex Dogs (including ‘Interlude’)

Who is/are Blur?

Well, this has been pretty much covered in the previous posts, so if you’re still not sure, let’s head to Instagram (@blurofficial); “New album ‘The Magic Whip’ out now. po.st/iTMW”.

Great.

Why did you buy this album?

My wife bought this album as, by now, she was a dyed in the wool Blur fan.

I bought this from one of the Manchester second-hand CD shops once I remembered how much I enjoyed listening to it when it came out, most notably laid on the floor at a friend’s house* late on a Friday night…

What’s it like?

This is the Blur album that got me interested in Blur as a band, rather than as one of those groups that popped up with a catchy single every now and then that wasn’t called Oasis.

Frustrations within the band post-‘The Great Escape‘ led to a change in style, with more input from guitarist Graham Coxon, who was heavily influenced by the American lo-fi bands such as Pavement (hurrah!). In the same way that ‘Modern Life…‘ replaced the baggy sound of ‘Leisure‘ with proto-britpop, ‘Blur‘ replaces the fully-fledged britpop of ‘Parklife‘ and ‘The Great Escape‘ with fuzzy guitars, less narrative lyrics, and a generally more indie sound.

I like indie sound…

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

Very much so. Until my wife introduced me to ‘Modern Life is Rubbish‘, this and ‘13‘ were my favourite Blur albums. It still stands up well, 20 years** after its first release.

Any stand-out tracks?

The Coxon-written ‘You’re So Great‘ has a special place in my affections, as do ‘Beetlebum‘ and ‘Strange News From Another Star‘, though for different reasons.

There is also, of course, ‘Song 2‘…

Rating out of 10?

9/10.

Next up: Blur – 13

*All the seats were taken. That’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it.

**Yikes.

Leave a Reply

