57. Blur – The Magic Whip

Blur - The Magic Whip

57. Blur – The Magic Whip (2015)

1. Lonesome Street
2. New World Towers
3. Go Out
4. Ice Cream Man
5. Thought I Was a Spaceman
6. I Broadcast
7. My Terracotta Heart
8. There Are Too Many of Us
9. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirrorball

Who is/are Blur?

These chaps…

Why did you buy this album?

We’ve established by now that my wife and I are fans of Blur, so when this album was released in 2015, I bought it for both of us to listen to.

What’s it like?

This is Blur back in the studio for the first time since ‘Think Tank‘ in 2003, and, unlike that album, it’s all four of them working together throughout.

There’s less of the traditional guitar/bass/drums on this album, with Albarn adding synths and keyboards to tracks to compliment the work done by the other three. There’s also less of the youthful exuberance of earlier albums, as befitting a band in their third decade together, and even the poppier tunes have a subtle maturity.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I like this album more now than I did when it first appeared, though I think I was listening to the ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron‘ soundtrack, and other Marvel-related soundtracks at the time, and not really in the mood for intelligent alt-rock.

Having said that, I still find this album suffers from a lack of memorable songs, other than those chosen as singles.

Any stand-out tracks?

Opener ‘Lonesome Street‘ is still my favourite track by far, with ‘Ong Ong‘, ‘Go Out‘, and ‘There Are Too Many Of Us‘ also worthy of note.

Rating out of 10?

7/10.

Next up: David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

Leave a Reply

