60. David Bowie – ★ (Blackstar)

David Bowie - Blackstar

60. David Bowie – ★ (2016)

1. Blackstar
2. ‘Tis a Pity She Was a Whore
3. Lazarus
4. Sue (Or in a Season of Crime)
5. Girl Loves Me
6. Dollar Days
7. I Can’t Give Everything Away

Who is/are David Bowie?

If you don’t know by now, start here

Why did you buy this album?

The release of this album took me somewhat by surprise, despite having heard the singles ‘Blackstar‘ and ‘Lazarus‘ previously. On the day it was released, I heard enough of the tracks on BBC 6Music to warrant buying it, and it arrived on my desk the following day. The day after that, it was announced that David Bowie had died.

What’s it like?

Typically of Bowie, this album defies categorisation, being a real mix of styles, including jazz, art-rock, hip-hop, folk-pop, drum and bass, and a fair few more, in only 7 tracks.

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

This album has grown on me, even during the few listens I gave it for this post. I still find it too short, even though it’s longer than both ‘Ziggy Stardust…‘ and ‘Low‘, though mostly that’s because I really want to hear more of this electronica / nu-jazz / alt-rock hybrid form developing through the album.

Any stand-out tracks?

As is becoming par for the course for me, the opening track, ‘Blackstar‘, is one immediate stand-out, and it’s repeated hearings of this track that prompted me to buy the album.

My other stand-outs are the last two tracks ‘Dollar Days‘ and ‘I Can’t Give Everything Away‘.

Rating out of 10?

9/10.

Next up: Jeff Buckley – Live at Sin-é

Leave a Reply

