65. Kate Bush – The Red Shoes

Kate Bush - The Red Shoes

65. Kate Bush – The Red Shoes (1993)

1. Rubberband Girl
2. And So Is Love
3. Eat the Music
4. Moments of Pleasure
5. The Song of Solomon
6. Lily
7. The Red Shoes
8. Top of the City
9. Constellation of the Heart
10. Big Stripey Lie
11. Why Should I Love You?
12. You’re the One

Who is/are Kate Bush?

To Twitter, and @KateBushMusic; “There is no other recording artist in the world today quite like Kate Bush – Musician, Vocalist, Songwriter & Record Producer”.

Fair enough.

Why did you buy this album?

This was another birthday or Christmas present I bought for my wife. She has good taste*.

What’s it like?

It’s a more commercial sounding album than ‘Hounds of Love‘, with less prog elements.

I think…

After listening to it now, do you (still) like this album?

I want to. The problem is, immediately after listening to it, I’ve forgotten it.

I do enjoy listening to it, but once it’s finished, I struggle to recall anything special about it. The songs are generally good, although, apart from a couple of exceptions, don’t really hang around in my head for any length of time afterwards.

Any stand-out tracks?

Of the few I can recall after listening,  ‘Lily‘ always makes me stop what I’m doing and pay attention, and, again, an opening track wins a mention, in this case ‘Rubberband Girl‘.

A notable mention also goes to ‘Why Should I Love You?‘, which I always thought sounded like a Prince B-side. Lo and behold, in the personnel listing for that track; “Prince: keyboards, guitar, bass, vocals, arranger.”

Rating out of 10?

6/10.

Next up: Cellarscape – Copilot

*Mostly…

Leave a Reply

